Types of elections

As well as Hart District Council and Parish Council elections, there are also elections to Hampshire County Council, for the Police and Crime Commissioner and Parliament.

Hart District Council

Hart District Council is made up of 33 Councillors in 11 areas, known as Wards.

You can find out who your local Councillors are by going to the District Councillors page on this website.

Parish and Town Councils

You can find out more about the Parish and Town Councils by going to the Hart Parish and Town Councils webpage.

Parish and Town Councils hold elections every four years, you can find out more information on the schedule of Parish and Town Elections.

Hampshire County Council

Hampshire is divided into electoral divisions. These are similar to our wards, but much bigger and each one has one councillor.

There are five County Councillors covering Hart. You can find out who your County Councillor is by going to the County Councillors webpage.

Hampshire County Council holds elections every four years.

Police and Crime Commissioner

Police and Crime Commissioners are elected every four years.


There are two parliamentary constituencies covering Hart, Aldershot Constituency and North East Hampshire Constituency. The Aldershot constituency has 8,265 electors, and the North East Hampshire constituency has 62,232 electors. 

You can find the contact details for the MPs on the Elected Representatives webpage. 

Fleet Business Improvement District

The renewal ballot for the Fleet Business Improvement District was held in March 2022,  The report of voting by business rate payers of the Fleet BID can be found on the Declaration of Result

Neighbourhood Planning Referendums

Neighbourhood Planning enables communities to draw up a Neighbourhood Plan for their area and is intended to give communities more of a say in the development of their local area.

Find out more information on our Neighbourhood Planning webpage

If you have any enquiries regarding electoral services please contact us:

Telephone 01252 774073, 01252 774157 or 01252 774158 or email elections@hart.gov.uk